Skip to main content

OpenUK Awards 2023

Celebrating UK Leadership and Global Collaboration in Open Technology

Awards timetable

  • Nominations open 28th July 2023
  • Nominations close midnight UK 24th September 2023 (this will not be extended)
  • Shortlist of up to 3 nominees per category announced 18th October 2023
  • Winners Announced 20th November 2023: Black Tie Awards Ceremony and dinner at House of Lords sponsored by Lord Vaizey, 6-10.30pm, tickets limited 

OpenUK 2023 Award Winners

Software sponsored by Red Badger

Winner – SeaQL

Hardware sponsored by ChipFlow

Winner – Coriolis

Data sponsored by the Open Data Institute

Winner – 360Giving

Security sponsored by Control Plane

Winner – Sigstore

Sustainability sponsored by Avanade

Winner – OpenSmartMonitor

Startup sponsored by Runa Capital

Winner – QuestDB

Finance sponsored by FINOS

Winner – NatWest

Law and Policy

Winner – Andrew Katz

Belonging  sponsored by Moorcrofts Corporate Law

Winner – Open Data Scotland

Young Person sponsored by Venafi, Jetstack, Consult

Winner – Kunal Kushwaha

Individual sponsored by Red Hat

Winner – Dawn Foster

AI sponsored by Aleios

Winner – AutoGPT by Significant Gravitas

Nomination information

  • Nominations in more than one category are welcome
  • Self nominations as an individual, project or organisation are welcome as well as nominations for third parties
  • Nominated individuals must be resident in the UK for the preceding 12 months as at 29 September 2023 for individual or key contributor to projects
  • Individuals nominated for the young person category must be aged 18-25 on 24 September 2023
  • Nominated Projects must provide list of UK resident participants who were resident in the UK during the preceding 12 months as at 24 September 2023 or show as significant UK connection
  • All companies nominated should have a UK registered entity and must provide a UK company number

  • All shortlisted nominees will be invited to attend the House of Lords ceremony and dinner free of charge but travel costs are their responsibility and no contribution from OpenUK is available. One place per shortlisted nominee, per category
  • All shortlisted nominees will receive a trophy
  • Only one winner per category
  • Each winner will be provided with a Winner’s trophy. One trophy per category only
  • Judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into
  • No cash alternative
  • OpenUK will have no responsibility for any entry not received, received late, or with missing information
  • Only nominees who have accepted their nomination by email will be included in those judged and eligible to be short-listed
  • Laws of England and Wales apply
  • All nominees who accept their nominations agree to these terms and agree to the use of their name, and image in digital and other media by OpenUK
  • Promoter, OpenUK, 8 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 5HL Company Number: 11209475 , VAT Registration: GB379697512

Award Winners 2022

Belonging • The Turing Way
Software • BBC Research & Development
Data • Libraries Hacked
Sustainability • Szymon Duchniewicz
Hardware • LowRISC
Individual • Anais Urlichs
Finance • Waltz
Young person • Jack Gilmore
Security • Liz Rice

Awards 2022, Third edition

Award Winners 2021

Belonging • Endless Compute, Robert McQueen
Software • The Herald Proximity Project
Data • Open Knowledge Foundation
Sustainability • Icebreaker One
Hardware • DevTank HILTOP
Individual • Kevin Mayfield
Finance • Wise
Young person (under 25) • Samuel Van Stroud

Awards 2021, Second edition

Award Winners 2020

Young Person • Josh Lowe
Individual • Liz Rice
Financial Services and Fintech in Open Source • Parity
Open Data • National Library of Wales
Open Hardware • LowRISK
Open Source Software • HospitalRun

Awards 2020, First edition
Scroll to top of the content